2019 年会议目标

今年将在中国深圳举行的泛太平洋海运亚洲大会现已进入第 13 个年头,是直接货主以及在亚洲开展业务的其他集装箱运输行业相关方不容缺席的会议。目前全球贸易和集装箱运输服务正处于动荡时期,进出亚洲和亚洲区内集装箱运输服务的主要用户(包括零售商、制造商、消费品公司、农业综合企业和能源公司)及其物流服务提供商正面临诸多挑战。为期两天的会议议程将帮助此类企业了解这些挑战,并提出一些潜在的解决方案。

主题:适应新的国际贸易秩序

随着我们进入2019年中后期,中美贸易关系的变化以及国际海事组织 (IMO) 硫排放限制最后期限的快速临近,这些成为影响亚洲海运市场的主导力量。

 

虽然中美双方正在磋商,但全球两个最大经济体之间的贸易关系已经变得很不稳定,爆发全面贸易战的风险仍然很大。即使达成协议且其实施达到让两国政府均满意的程度,2017年开始征收的高昂贸易关税的残余影响也将持续存在。

 

这些关税导致美国和中国企业寻求新的进口来源,并加速制造业从中国分流到其他新兴市场。中国劳动力成本上升已经促使跨国公司十多年来一直在寻找替代采购市场,而中国为扭转其经济严重依赖出口而出台的更多关税和政策加快了这一趋势。

 

在新技术的支持下,供应链比以往任何时候都更加敏捷,在新地点建立生产所需的基础设施、劳动力和相关数据更容易获得。通过多样化采购实现更好的风险管理,对于直接货主(尤其是依赖高速供应的服装和汽车等行业的直接货主)来说同样是一个日益重要的竞争目标。马来西亚、日本、巴基斯坦和泰国正在从电子集成电路、高端汽车技术、棉纱和通信设备等产品的进口替代中受益,还有更多的服装和鞋类生产正从中国转移至越南、柬埔寨、孟加拉国和斯里兰卡。

消费者习惯的变化也正在推动区域和全球供应链的结构发生变化。由于有众多新技术可以将直接货主与消费者联系起来,选择和购买商品的传统方式正被电子商务所取代,而这是许多公司的主要发展机会。因此,对于许多直接货主而言,提高竞争力与重新设计生产和配送网络紧密相关,而且他们希望海运服务提供商支持国际供应链中日益分散的生产和配送。

各种形式的国家投资意味着中国替代市场(尤其是南亚和东南亚市场)的集装箱港口基础设施正在逐步改善。但是,市场需求的变化速度似乎快于集装箱班轮公司能够做出响应的速度。事实上,直接货主供应链正在发生变化,而变化方式似乎与大型集装箱班轮公司正在实施的一些基本战略并不一致。

 

一段时间以来,全球新订购集装箱货轮的情况要好于以往,但供需失衡问题远未解决,在需求疲软时仍会导致班轮公司赢利能力变差。2020 年 1 月 1 日是即将到来的国际海事组织 (IMO) 低硫法规的最后实施期限,这会带来更复杂的新挑战。班轮公司提高赢利能力的传统方法是削减运能并通过更大货轮建立规模经济性,但这些做法与国际供应链中更加分散的生产和配送网络格格不入。这些生产和配送网络要求更多而不是更少的出口选择以及班次频率。

 

直接货主正越来越多地批评不断变差的班轮服务水平,其部分原因要归结于更大的货轮、港口装卸规模以及货轮共享联盟,而且他们指出通过区块链、寻求可视性和其他技术实现改进的进度极其缓慢。

 

2019 年泛太平洋海运亚洲大会将提供亚洲最高质量的议程编排,挑选出最能影响区域和全球海运格局的复杂趋势。市场领先的直接货主、航运公司、贸易经济学家和行业分析师将阐释供应链和海运业面临的复杂挑战,提供对市场状况的务实观察,并就如何解决这些挑战以及可以在何处找到机会提出宝贵见解。

 

要探讨的话题:

  • 集装箱运输展望:直接货主的变化、挑战和机遇

  • 美国贸易政策:对区域和全球贸易模式的影响

  • 采购和生产转移:南亚/东南亚和非洲是否将会填补中国制造的空缺?

  • 未来的电子商务和供应链模型

  • 班轮公司绩效:如何提高服务可靠性、可视性并减少延迟影响

  • 供应链数字化:进步和陷阱

  • 冷藏运输:管理冷链

2019 Conference Objective

Now in its 13th year in Shenzhen, China, TPM Asia is the must-attend event for beneficial cargo owners and other container shipping industry stakeholders doing business in Asia. Its two-plus days of intensive programming provides major users of container shipping services into, out of, and within Asia — including retailers, manufacturers, consumer product firms, agribusiness, and energy companies — with an understanding of, and potential solutions to, the major challenges they and their logistics providers face in these tumultuous times for global trade and the container shipping services that support it.

Theme: Adapting to a New International Trade Order 

Changes in the US-China trade relationship and the rapid approach of the deadline for IMO-imposed limits on sulfur emissions are the dominant forces shaping the ocean freight market in Asia as we move through the latter stages of 2019.

 

Despite ongoing talks, the trade relationship between the world’s two largest economies has been volatile and significant risk remains of a full -blown trade war.  Even if a deal can be reached and enforced to the satisfaction of both governments, the residual impact of the implementation of costly trade tariffs that started in 2017 will be lasting.  

 

The tariffs resulted in US and Chinese companies looking to new sources for imports, and an acceleration in diversification of production from China to other emerging markets. Although rising labor costs in China have driven multinationals to look to alternative sourcing markets for more than a decade, the additional tariffs and policies to rebalance the economy from its heavy reliance on exports have accelerated the trend.

 

Supported by new technologies, supply chains are more agile than ever, and the physical infrastructure, labor, and relevant data required to set up production in new locations is more readily available. Better risk management through diversified sourcing is also an increasingly important competitive objective for BCOs, particularly in sectors such as garments and automotive that rely on high-velocity supply. Malaysia, Japan, Pakistan, and Thailand are benefiting from import substitution for products such as electronic integrated circuits, high-end automotive technologies, cotton yarn, and communications equipment, while more garment and footwear production is moving from China to Vietnam, Cambodia, Bangladesh, and Sri Lanka.

 

Changes in consumer habits also are driving change in the structure of regional and global supply chains. With a plethora of new technologies available to connect BCOs with consumers, traditional methods of selection and purchase of goods are being replaced by e-commerce, which is the leading growth opportunity for many companies. The result is that for many BCOs, improving competitiveness is linked to re-engineering production and distribution networks and ocean freight service providers are being looked at to support increasingly fragmented production and distribution in international supply chains.

 

State investment in various forms means container port infrastructure in alternative markets to China, particularly South and Southeast Asia, is improving, gradually. But the demands of the market appear to be changing more quickly than container lines can respond. In fact, BCOs’ supply chains are changing in ways that don’t seem well aligned with some of the fundamental strategies the large liner shipping companies are implementing.

 

The container ship order book is in better shape than it’s been for some time but the supply and demand imbalance that underpins poor carrier profitability in times of weaker demand is far from resolved. The Jan. 1, 2020, deadline for implementation of the incoming IMO low-sulfur regulation brings with it a serious new dimension to the challenge. Traditional means to improve profitability — cutting capacity and building economies of scale with bigger vessels — is at odds with the more fragmented production and distribution networks in international supply chains. These networks prefer more export choices and more service frequencies rather than fewer.

 

BCOs are increasingly critical of deteriorating liner service levels resulting in part from bigger ships, call sizes at ports, and vessel-sharing alliances, and say the promise of improvements through blockchain, visibility-seeking, and other technologies are painstakingly slow to materialize.

 

Offering the highest quality event programming anywhere in Asia, TPM Asia 2019 will pick apart the complex trends shaping the regional and global ocean freight landscape. Leading BCOs, shipping lines, trade economists, and industry analysts will examine the complex challenges facing supply chains and the ocean freight industry, providing a realistic view of the state of the market and valuable insights on solutions to its challenges and where opportunities can be found.

Topics to be Explored:

  • Container Shipping Outlook: Changes, challenges, and opportunities for BCOs

  • US Trade Policy: The impact on regional and global trade patterns

  • Sourcing and Production Shifts: Will South/Southeast Asia and Africa fill in China’s gaps?

  • E-Commerce and Supply Chain Models of the Future

  • Carrier Performance: How to improve service reliability, visibility and reduce the impact of delays

  • Supply Chain Digitization: Progress and pitfalls

  • Refrigerated Shipping: Managing the cold chain